Columbia
37° F
Overcast
Overcast

Man gets third DWI going wrong way along Hwy. 54

Published On: Apr 17 2014 08:15:21 PM CDT
Updated On: Apr 18 2014 06:42:50 PM CDT
CALLAWAY CO., Mo. -

A man was arrested in Mid-Missouri early Thursday morning for allegedly driving drunk and going the wrong way on Highway 54.

Daniel Roux was finally stopped around 3:20 a.m. in Kingdom City by Callaway County deputies and Fulton police officers.

According to the sheriff's department, Roux has also been arrested twice just this year for DWI. The first offense happened January 16 in Lewis County, followed by another report on March 31 in Audrain County.

Roux posted $15,000 bond Thursday before he was released from the Callaway County jail.

ABC 17 News took a look into Missouri's DWI laws Friday.

According to a Boone and Callaway County uniform bond schedule a class D felony is set at $4500.

According to Missouri law one DWI conviction means no license for 30 days.

The sentence for a second DWI means at least five days in prison and at least a year without a license.

A third adds more jail time and once again no license for multiple years.

As of right now all of Daniel Roux's DWI charges are pending.

"It is not uncommon for a person with a third DWI to post bond almost immediately," said Bogdan Susan.

Bogdan Susan is a Columbia attorney that specializes in DWI's.

"DWI's are different. People tend to have real strong feelings about DWI's because of the threat that they pose to someone by being killed by a drunk driver," said Susan.

According to Missouri law if charges aren't filed within 24 hours they can post bond.

"People are wrongfully arrested for DWI's and have the right to a trial," said Susan.

Some Missouri lawmakers urge for more though.

Last month we talked with state representative, Linda Black.

She is pushing for a bill that targets repeat offenders.
 
"It would require that if it is your second DWI offense, you'd have to turn in your license plates, get an identifiable to law enforcement license plate so that law enforcement has reasonable suspicion to pull you over," said Black.

The bill is still in committee.

Missouri law does allow and sometimes requires the use of an ignition interlock device as part of a DWI sentence.

Offenders can petition after both a first and second offense to have one installed in their vehicles instead of losing their license.

It is a breathalyzer they would have to pass in order for the driver's car to start.

Comments

The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms Of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. 
blog comments powered by Disqus